Organising Group and Scientific Committees

  • Image of committee at a table

    Organising Group

    • Professor Fergus Nicol, London Metropolitan University
      Fergus Nicol is best known for his work in human thermal comfort, principally the ‘adaptive’ approach. He led the EU project Smart Controls and Thermal Comfort (SCATS) which is the basis of European comfort standard EN15251 which he helped draft. Fergus helped develop Masters courses on sustainability at Oxford Brookes and London Metropolitan Universities and supervises a number of PhD students. He has co-authored numerous journal articles and other publications including the comfort chapter in CIBSE Guide A . Fergus convenes the Network for Comfort and Energy use in Buildings and is organising their Counting the Cost of Comfort in a Changing World conference in Windsor in April 2014. He is a member of the CIBSE task force on overheating in buildings and is developing their guidance.
    • Professor Susan Roaf, Heriot-Watt University
      Sue Roaf, B.A.Hons, A.A. Dipl., PhD, ARB, RIAS, WCCA, FRSA, is Professor of Architectural Engineering at Heriot Watt University and an award winning teacher, author and editor of 16 books, architect, a renewable energy pioneer and an Oxford City Councillor for seven years. Her research covers the Windcatchers of Yazd, the nomadic architecture of Luristan, traditional technologies, Mesopotamian archaeology, photovoltaics, Ecohouse, Low Carbon, Resilient and Sustainable building design and Thermal Comfort. She is on the Boards/Committees of the International Solar Cities Initiative; Solar City Dundee; Heriot Watt Energy Academy; the Scottish Institute of Solar Energy Research; AES Solar Ltd.; ICARB: The Initiative for Carbon Accounting; the Adaptation theme for the Scottish Centre of Expertise in Climate Change and the Resilient Design Institute in New York.
    • Dr Luisa Brotas, London Metropolitan University
      Luisa Brotas is a registered architect in Portugal and in the UK (ARB and RIBA) with a PhD in Daylighting by the London Metropolitan University (2004). She was a researcher at the Department of Renewable Energy of the former National Institute of Engineering, Technology and Innovation, INETI, in Portugal for 13 years. She is co-director with Fergus Nicol of the Low Energy Architecture Research Unit, LEARN, where she has worked since 2002 and is Course Leader of the MSc Architecture, Energy and Sustainability at The Cass Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design (CASS) of London Metropolitan University. She also taught at two other UK and two Portuguese Universities. She has been involved in energy efficiency in new and retrofit buildings, eco materials and sustainability, natural ventilation and Passivhaus standard, daylighting and thermal analysis in national and European funded projects. Her interests also include bioclimatic design, adaptive thermal and visual comfort and high dynamic range images.
    • Reverend Professor Michael Humphreys, Oxford Brookes University
      Michael Humphreys is in Christian Ministry and Environmental Research, and is known internationally for his part in the conceptual development of the adaptive approach to environmental comfort. He was at the Building Research Establishment from 1966-78, becoming Head of the Human Factors Section, and has been at Oxford Brookes University since 1993, and a Research Professor since 2001. His current work is the statistical analysis of large field databases, the logical structure and modelling of human adaptive environmental behaviour in and around buildings, the interaction between various facets of the environment, and the practical expression of these matters in British guidelines and in European and American standards.


    Scientific Committee

    • Professor Richard de Dear University of Sydney (AU)
    • Professor Terry Williamson University of Adelaide (AU)
    • Dr. Peter Wouters International Network for Information on Ventilation and Energy Performance (BE)
    • Professor Roberto Lamberts, Federal University of Santa Catarina (BR)
    • Professor Da Yan Tsinghua University (CN)
    • Professor Li Baizhan Chongqing University (CN)
    • Professor Edward Ng Chinese University of Hong Kong (CN)
    • Professor Yingxin Zhu Tsinghua University (CN)
    • Dr Bin Cao (CN)
    • Professor Jens Pfafferott Hochschule Offenburg (DE)
    • Dr Marcel Schweiker (DE)
    • Professor Bjarne Olesen Technical University of Denmark (DK)
    • Professor Jarek Kurnitski Tallinn University of Technology,(EE)
    • Professor Risto Kosonen Aalto University (FI)
    • Professor Matheos Santamouris Cyprus Institute, University of Athens and University of New South Wales (GR)
    • Professor Ashok Lall Kamla Raheja Vidyanidhi Institute of Architecture and Environmental Studies (IN)
    • Professor Ryozo Ooka The University of Tokyo (JP)
    • Professor Hom Rijal Tokyo City University (JP)
    • Professor Shin Ichi Tanabe Waseda University (JP)
    • Professor Michael Adebamowo University of Lagos (NG)
    • Professor Dr Philomena Bluyssen Delft University of Technology (NL)
    • Dr Atze Boerstra BBA Binnenmilieu BV and Eindhoven University of Technology (NL)
    • Mr Giancarlo Mangone Delft University of Technology (NL)
    • Professor Wouter von Marken Lichtenburg Maastricht University (NL)
    • Dr Boris Kingma (NL)
    • Prof Iftikhar Raja (PK)
    • Dr. Madhavi Indraganti Univ Qatar (QA)
    • Dr Mark Olweny Uganda Martyrs University (UG)
    • Professor Andy Ford London Southbank University (UK)
    • Professor Rajat Gupta Oxford Brookes University (UK)
    • Professor Jake Hacker Arups (UK)
    • Professor George Havenith Loughborough University (UK)
    • Professor Maria Kolokotroni Brunel University (UK)
    • Professor Dennis Loveday University of Loughborough (UK)
    • Dr. Azadeh Montazami Coventry University (UK)
    • Professor Marialena Nikolopoulou University of Kent (UK)
    • Professor Ken Parsons Loughborough University (UK)
    • Professor Adrian Pitts University of Huddersfield (UK)
    • Professor Darren Robinson University of Nottingham (UK)
    • Dr. Paul Tuohy University of Strathclyde (UK)
    • Professor Runming Yao University of Reading (UK)
    • Professor Edward Arens University California, Berkeley (USA)
    • Professor Gail Brager University of California Berkeley (USA)
    • Professor Alison Kwok University of Oregon (USA)
    • Assistant Professor Stefano Schiavon University of California Berkeley (USA)
    • Dr Despoina Teli, University of Southampton (UK)
    • Dr Gesche Huebner, University College London (UK)
    • Dr David Shipworth, University College London (UK)
Scroll Up